11th May

Last night, my day off today was planned to start with an early errand to get some horseradish sauce and some screws for the replacement kitchen tap valves that came without screws. The current ones are 1mm too wide. I woke with a general malaise (laze being the operative phonetic). It was windy so I put things off, sweeping the floor, changing the valves (just the hot tap as the cold one would not budge) & screening my work e-mail while supervising master12s on-line schooling.

At 12.30, I finally took off having fed the boys, deciding at a crack at my World record segment. I would have a tailwind after all! At the start of the segment, I paused and waited for a couple walking down it to come off and set off at a pretty good pace until a couple of dogs, disobedient to their owners wishes would just not get out of the way. Oh well, there’ll be other tailwinds on other days… It’s only because I have an equally disobedient dog that I am so understanding.

Then I went parallel to the M11 on a farm byeway, hitting the 17mph NE headwind, cold and biting. Still, it was good to be out on another less travelled path of late and I did spot another underpass that could offer further exploring on another day with more time on my hands. Perhaps on another day when I can get my A in G a bit earlier. I got to town and went to Wickes. No customers allowed inside. Homebase next door had a 20 people deep. No thanks. So I discovered a path around a field at the back and ducked into Birchanger woods before slipping across the A120 into more farmland and into the wind again.

But not for long as I found the relative shelter of a bridleway that took me the long way around junction 8 of the M11 and back onto the Flitch. Sheltered again, I sat down and did an on line search in the sun for tap valve screws. No luck- they all come with screws apparently. I would return the ones that I have but can’t remember where they came from it was so long ago. In the end, I measured the old ones and sure enough, I had ordered the wrong size. I am king of DIY as long as I do everything twice the first time.

I bypassed home and ambled up to the shop to get the horseradish sauce that I had forgotten in town. Back home to an excited dog, I decided to take her for a walk to see if the forest is official open. Nope, Wednesday is the day when we can all exercise more than once and travel to parks and meet only 1 person outside of our household as long as we keep 2 metres apart (I think).

The Matt Lucas summary of the PMs speech about the next phase of exiting lock down

Then it was time to put together a curry from yesterday’s beef (I love leftovers). As for the C word, deaths are on the downward trend but these are weekend tallies. They tend to go back up during the week as reporting increases. We’ll see…

Total UK deaths: 32,065 (210)

About biking2work

Sometimes bad tempered Dad to 2 sons who break things. Use the 2 wheels to get from A to B when I can
This entry was posted in Covid 19, Plague and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment